Judge: Marilyn Chin

A prize of $1,000 plus book publication by Kore Press
will be given for a book-length poetry manuscript.

Postmark deadline: Sept. 1, 2005
Please Note: We have extended the deadline from June 2nd to September 1st.

This competition is open to any female writer who has not published a
full-length collection of poetry. Writers who have had chapbooks of less than 42 pages printed in editions of no more than 400 copies are eligible.

Please submit one copy of the manuscript, a cover sheet, a $20 reading fee payable to Kore Press, a self-addressed stamped postcard to acknowledge receipt of the manuscript, and a self-addressed stamped envelope for award announcement. Please note that manuscripts cannot be returned.

Send submissions to:
Kore Press, First Book Award
P.O. Box 3044
Tucson, AZ 85702-3044

Cover sheet should include:
• name
• address
• daytime and evening telephone numbers
• email address
• title of manuscript

Manuscripts must be:
• a minimum of 48 pages and a maximum of 70 pages
• typed on standard white paper
• paginated
• bound with a clip (do not permanently bind in any way)
• anonymous (do not include your name anywhere on the manuscript)
• original poetry written by applicant (translations are not eligible)

For more information email kore@korepress.org,
or call 520-882-7542.


2004 Winner:
The Errant Thread
by Elline Lipkin
selected by Eavan Boland


2003 Winner:

Various Modes of Departure
by Deborah Fries
selected by Carolyn Forche


2002 Winner:

Rigging the Wind
by Jennifer Barber
selected by Jane Miller